Tuesday, April 25, 2017



DATE: WEDNESDAY, April 26, 2017
TIME: 10:30-12:00

Department of Medicine & Therapeutics

The Department of Medicine & Therapeutics is a large department in charge of clinical courses of medical programme as well as nurse advance health and physical assessment and comprises the following 4 units: Internal Medicine, Community Medicine, Psychiatry and Pharmacology. It is expected that each of these units will evolve into full departments as the staffing and facilities situation improves. The department is in charge of the courses in Haematology and Pharmacology. These are taught principally during the fourth and fifth years of the medical programme. The courses and clinical attachments in Internal Medicine are spread over the fourth, fifth and sixth years of the medical programme.

The department is located within the premises of the Edward Francis Small Teaching Hospital. All senior members are heavily involved in teaching process because of staff shortage, in addition to a very heavy service load, which entails supervising the day-to-day activities of a very busy emergency and referral hospital.